Law In Illinois Allows Car Dealers To Charge $150 In Fees
SPRINGFIELD, IL - Car buyers may soon pay $150 in fees when they purchase their new rides.
Gov. Rod Blagojevich signed legislation Friday that will let a car dealer charge up to $150 for document fees, such as license transfer, tax and warranty forms, up from a maximum of $58.
Dealers insist the paperwork has skyrocketed. Dealers in at least 30 states charge from $400 to $900 in fees.
Rep. Dan Burke (D-Chicago), the sponsor, said it is up to the dealer to decide whether to impose the higher fee.
"If they want to cut their deals or sell a product that's competitive, that's one of the ingredients they have to look at," he said.
Chicago Tribune Staff Article - 8/17/07
If you would like more information or have a question concerning Illinois Lemon Law protection or your consumer rights in Illinois, read more about Illinois Law.